Email:         Municipality of Louise Office:   Phone 204-873-2591


The Pilot Mound & District Foundation was incorporated in 1996. The Board is composed of eight members who represent municipal bodies, community service clubs, institutions and organizations.

An initial gift of $20,000 was made to the Foundation by the Hospital Endowment Fund. An initiative called the Foundersí Club was undertaken by which donors were invited to make a gift of $500 or over. Those joining the club had their names engraved on a plaque which is on display in the Town Office and each received a framed certificate. This was well received and soon there was $14,500 to add to the capital fund.

The Foundation has grown slowly but steadily over the years with some support from the government of Manitoba and corporations, a gift of a life insurance policy, gifts of shares from another donor, bequests from wills, etc. Many donations are received each year to memorialize the names of loved ones who have passed on.

In 2006 the James R. Hyslop Memorial Scholarships (a $25,000 fund) were established by Mrs. Edith Hyslop. These will be awarded each year to a female student and to a male student graduating from Pilot Mound Collegiate and leaving the community for further academic study.

The Pioneer Familiesí Builders Fund is another initiative undertaken by the Foundation Board. With a gift of $1,000 or over, a donor has the opportunity to have the story of his or her family recorded, along with photos in a beautiful album which will be on display in the Pilot Mound Library.

With a gift of $1,000 or over donors can have a fund named in their honor; with a gift of $5,000 or over donors may designate a field of interest where earnings from their gift will be directed. There are currently 15 funds in the Pilot Mound Foundation.

The Mission Statement of the Foundation is to benefit the people of Pilot Mound and District by supporting non-profit charitable, educational and cultural organizations.

For more information please contact the Executive Director Officer/Treasurer, Alana Williams.